+757-963-0632  1104 Madison Plaza Suite 101 Chesapeake, VA 23320

2023 TEMS Regional Awards Winners

Tidewater EMS Council Recognizes Excellence

(Chesapeake, Va.) – The Tidewater Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Council, Inc., celebrated the 2023 regional EMS awards, May 20th during a special dinner ceremony at The Healthcare Education EXPO. The council presented top honors to the individuals and organizations considered for their remarkable contributions to the EMS field.

This year’s award recipients have demonstrated a true commitment to excellence and a passion for serving others. They continually strive to provide the highest quality of care when it is needed most. “It is an honor every year to have the opportunity to bring some much-needed and well-deserved recognition to the best EMS responders, instructors, dispatchers, nurses and agencies in the Tidewater region and Commonwealth of Virginia,” said David Long, executive director of the Tidewater EMS Council, Inc. “we’re thankful for the quality care they and others who are part of the healthcare continuum provide daily to ensure patients in our region experience a timely response with skillful quality treatment.”

Recipients of this year’s regional awards now have the chance to compete for the prestigious 2023 Governor’s EMS Awards, which will be announced later this year. Winners will be presented with a trophy and a certificate signed by the Governor.

The 2023 Tidewater EMS Council Regional Award Recipients:

Excellence in EMS (R.C. Dailey Award) – Bailey Phillips, Chesapeake Fire Department 

Outstanding EMS Leadership (Bruce W. Edwards Award) – Jeffrey Matthews, Suffolk Fire & Rescue Department 

Outstanding EMS Agency Award – Franklin Fire-Rescue, Franklin Fire-Rescue

Outstanding Pre-Hospital EMS Provider Award – Daniel “Charlie” Logan, Navy Region Mid-Atlantic Fire and Emergency Services 

Physician with Outstanding Contribution to EMS (Frank M. Yeiser, Jr., MD Award) – Lewis Siegel, MD, Chesapeake Fire Department 

Outstanding Contribution to EMS Health & Safety Award – Taylor Jones, Virginia Beach EMS 

Regional EMS Award for Innovation Excellence in EMS – Tidewater EMS Council, Chesapeake, VA 

Outstanding Contribution to EMS for Children Award – CHKD Transport Team, Children’s Hospital of the Kings Daughters 

Regional EMS Award for Nurse with Outstanding Contribution to EMS – Pam Blais, Tidewater ENA 

Regional EMS Award for Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a High School Senior – Michael “Drew” Rich, Virginia Beach EMS / Ocean Park Volunteer Rescue Squad 

Outstanding Prehospital Educator (James M. Wagenbach Award) – Robert Barrett, Suffolk Fire & Rescue Department 

Outstanding Contribution to EMS Telecommunications Award – Amanda Echevarria, Chesapeake Public Safety Telecommunicator 

Outstanding Contribution to EMS Emergency Preparedness and Response – Ira and Paula Swartz, H.E.A.R.T. Radio Team

Special Recognition:

Lifetime Achievement (James “Jim” Chandler Award– Ed Brazle, Retired Chief of Virginia Beach EMS

Make a Difference by Equipping & Educating EMS Providers

TEMS, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, appreciates support for its training events and programs which benefit the EMS system across our region.

Learn more about opportunities to invest in EMS!

Get the Latest Regional Announcements

Serving the cities of Chesapeake, Franklin, Norfolk, Portsmouth, Suffolk and Virginia Beach and the counties of Accomack, Isle of Wight, Northampton and Southampton.

TEMS is a 501(c)(3) Non-Profit Corporation.

Office Info