Thursday, 26 January 2023

TEMS Time Logo

Main Navigation

Open until March 31, 2023

Do you know a provider, organization or program that should be recognized for its excellence, dedication and contribution to Virginia’s Emergency Medical Services (EMS) system? If so, submit a nomination today for a Regional EMS Award!


Part of our mission in providing a regional EMS delivery system, is to recognize those individuals, groups and organizations that Strive for Excellence in providing patient care. That starts with the “Call for Help” through “Full Recovery” from illness or injury. It is a “continuum” of healthcare.


The Tidewater EMS Council has begun accepting nominations to Recognize Excellence in Emergency Medical Services in a variety of categories established by the state:

  • Excellence in EMS
  • Innovative Excellence in EMS
  • Nurse with Outstanding Contribution to EMS
  • Physician with Outstanding Contribution to EMS
  • Outstanding EMS Agency
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS for Children
  • Outstanding EMS Prehospital Educator
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS Health and Safety
  • Outstanding EMS Leadership
  • Outstanding Contribution oe EMS Emergency Preparedness and Response
  • Outstanding EMS Prehospital Provider
  • Outstanding EMS Telecommunicator
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a High School Senior

Learn more about the awards, nomination criteria and eligibility requirements - It is an easy process!


Additionally, there is an opportunity to nominate those in our region for TEMS Lifetime Achievement Awards. Contact David Long/TEMS Executive Director, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., with your suggestion and to learn more about the nomination process.

 Criteria: An individual who has given twenty-five (25) or more years of direct service to the field of emergency medical services and who has demonstrated an exceedingly high level of vision, commitment and dedication to the EMS system throughout this time.

 Eligibility: Any individual serving or has served as an EMS provider, EMS physician, ED nurse, EMS Telecommunicator, EMS administrator, EMS educator, or any other first responder or individual who is described in the criteria.

Past Recipients: Hollye Carpenter (2022), Dan Norville (2021) Dennis Keane (2020), Jim Hoffler (2020), Dominador Fermil (2019), Jim Chandler (2018), and Melvin Smith (2017).


This year we will recognize our nominees and award winners at the TEMS Regional Awards Ceremony will be integrated into the 2023 Tidewater Healthcare Education (THE) Expo. THE Expo will be held May 10-15, 2022 with the awards ceremony being held on Saturday, May 20, 2023, 7:00 pm at the Delta Hotels by Marriott Chesapeake. At a semi-formal dinner, nominees and award winners have the opportunity to invite their families to share in being recognized as some of the BEST in the region. TEMS also believes we have the BEST agencies and providers in the state.

Consider submitting nominations with details and photos that reflect the great work being accomplished in our region by YOUR providers!


The award winners from the TEMS Regional Awards Ceremony are submitted to the Virginia Office of EMS, as are award winners from the other 10 EMS Councils. The Virginia Office of EMS then selects a winner from each of the 13 categories to be recognized as a Governor’s EMS Award winner! The Governor’s Award winners are recognized at a dinner during the Virginia EMS Symposium held in Norfolk, VA in November.

Please share this article with your professional contacts and encourage others to nominate deserving candidates for the Tidewater EMS Council Regional EMS Awards!

Upcoming Events

Upcoming Classes

Platinum Partner

Platinum Partner

Gold Partner

Gold Partner

Silver Partner

TEMS TIME Podcasts

Get monthly news, events and more delivered by email. Join the free TEMS electronic list

Click Here to Subscribe