Monday, 18 February 2019

Main Navigation

Latest News

POST Program Helps Caregivers With End of Life Decisions

Somewhere between Advanced Directives, Durable Do Not Resuscitate and a patient’s wishes is a gray area about end-of-life patient care. A program begun on the west coast helps caregivers identify and honor those end-of-life wishes. That program, with its Virginia roots in the Roanoke area, is called POST or Physician Orders for Scope of Treatment. The program was piloted by Sentara in part of the Tidewater EMS region during 2011 and 2012, and will roll out regionwide, as well as in several other parts of Virginia, starting October 1, 2012.

Read more: POST Program Helps Caregivers With End of Life Decisions

Tidewater Stroke Triage Plan Effective April 1

Update: Effective June 1, 2011 the Tidewater Stroke Triage Plan was revised to delete references to the "Acute Stroke ED". All acute stroke patients should be transported to the closest Designated Stroke Center unless otherwise directed by medical control.

The Tidewater EMS Council's Prehospital and Interhospital Stroke Triage Plan was approved in December by the regional Operational Medical Directors with an implementation date of April 1, 2011. The stroke triage plan is is available for download and has been distributed to EMS agencies and hospitals throughout the region. [The plan is temporarily available for download. Questions: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. ]

Read more: Tidewater Stroke Triage Plan Effective April 1

Upcoming Events

Office Closed - Washington Day
Mon Feb 18 @12:00AM
Medical Directors Meeting
Tue Mar 12 @12:00PM - 01:00PM
Board Of Directors Meeting
Thu Mar 14 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Mar 20 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Apr 10 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon May 06 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
Office Closed - Memorial Day
Mon May 27 @12:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Jun 12 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Board Of Directors Meeting
Thu Jun 13 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Jun 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM

Upcoming Classes

IWVRS CEU Recert Class
Tue Feb 19 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Feb 20 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Thu Feb 21 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
IWVRS CEU Recert Class
Thu Feb 21 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
Tactical Emergency Casualty Care (TECC)
Sat Feb 23 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Tactical Emergency Casualty Care (TECC)
Sun Feb 24 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
IWVRS CEU Recert Class
Tue Feb 26 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
IWVRS CEU Recert Class
Thu Feb 28 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
Suffolk Fire & Rescue EMS CEU Blitz March 4th-March 8th, 2019
Mon Mar 04 @ 9:30AM - 04:30PM
Suffolk Fire & Rescue EMS CEU Blitz March 4th-March 8th, 2019
Tue Mar 05 @ 9:30AM - 04:30PM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com