Thursday, 15 November 2018

Latest News

POST Program Helps Caregivers With End of Life Decisions

Somewhere between Advanced Directives, Durable Do Not Resuscitate and a patient’s wishes is a gray area about end-of-life patient care. A program begun on the west coast helps caregivers identify and honor those end-of-life wishes. That program, with its Virginia roots in the Roanoke area, is called POST or Physician Orders for Scope of Treatment. The program was piloted by Sentara in part of the Tidewater EMS region during 2011 and 2012, and will roll out regionwide, as well as in several other parts of Virginia, starting October 1, 2012.

Read more: POST Program Helps Caregivers With End of Life Decisions

Tidewater Stroke Triage Plan Effective April 1

Update: Effective June 1, 2011 the Tidewater Stroke Triage Plan was revised to delete references to the "Acute Stroke ED". All acute stroke patients should be transported to the closest Designated Stroke Center unless otherwise directed by medical control.

The Tidewater EMS Council's Prehospital and Interhospital Stroke Triage Plan was approved in December by the regional Operational Medical Directors with an implementation date of April 1, 2011. The stroke triage plan is is available for download and has been distributed to EMS agencies and hospitals throughout the region. [The plan is temporarily available for download. Questions: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. ]

Read more: Tidewater Stroke Triage Plan Effective April 1

Upcoming Events

Office Closed - Thanksgiving Day
Thu Nov 22 @12:00AM
Office Closed - Thanksgiving Day
Fri Nov 23 @12:00AM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Nov 27 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Dec 12 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
OMD Committee Meeting
Thu Dec 13 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Dec 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
Office Closed - Christmas
Mon Dec 24 @12:00AM
Office Closed - Christmas
Tue Dec 25 @12:00AM
Office Closed - New Year's Day
Tue Jan 01 @12:00AM
Office Closed - King Day
Mon Jan 21 @12:00AM

Upcoming Classes

Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Nov 27 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
Pre Hospital Trauma Life Support (PHTLS) Hybrid
Sat Dec 08 @ 8:00AM - 04:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Dec 19 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Dec 19 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Dec 20 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Dec 20 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 01/23/19
Wed Jan 23 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Feb 20 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Thu Feb 21 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 03/30/19
Sat Mar 30 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com