Monday, 18 February 2019

Main Navigation

Latest News

TEMS board conducts elections for 2017-2019 term

VoteOn March 9, 2017 the Tidewater Emergency Medical Services Council Board of Directors held biennial elections for all directors, officers and executive committee members. While many incumbents were reelected, four new directors join the board effective April 1.

Stewart W. Martin, MD was re-elected board president. Dr. Martin, representing the city of Virginia Beach, has served on the TEMS board since 1993 including ten terms as president. Martin is board certified in emergency medicine and hyperbaric and undersea medicine. He also serves as medical director for the Virginia Beach Department of Emergency Medical Services and all of its volunteer rescue squads.

Read more: TEMS board conducts elections for 2017-2019 term

STEMI Accelerator Project improves cardiac outcomes – but there’s more to do

Heart attackDuring the past several years the Tidewater EMS region and many places across the nation have worked to improve the outcome of patients experiencing ST-elevation myocardial infarction, or STEMI. Hospitals and emergency medical systems are organizing coordinated regional plans for STEMI diagnosis and rapid reperfusion. The work is being done through heart attack coalitions, and in our region the Eastern Virginia Heart Attack Coalition has achieved amazing success.

Read more: STEMI Accelerator Project improves cardiac outcomes – but there’s more to do

Upcoming Events

Office Closed - Washington Day
Mon Feb 18 @12:00AM
Medical Directors Meeting
Tue Mar 12 @12:00PM - 01:00PM
Board Of Directors Meeting
Thu Mar 14 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Mar 20 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Apr 10 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon May 06 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
Office Closed - Memorial Day
Mon May 27 @12:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Jun 12 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Board Of Directors Meeting
Thu Jun 13 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Jun 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM

Upcoming Classes

IWVRS CEU Recert Class
Tue Feb 19 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Feb 20 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Thu Feb 21 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
IWVRS CEU Recert Class
Thu Feb 21 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
Tactical Emergency Casualty Care (TECC)
Sat Feb 23 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Tactical Emergency Casualty Care (TECC)
Sun Feb 24 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
IWVRS CEU Recert Class
Tue Feb 26 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
IWVRS CEU Recert Class
Thu Feb 28 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
Suffolk Fire & Rescue EMS CEU Blitz March 4th-March 8th, 2019
Mon Mar 04 @ 9:30AM - 04:30PM
Suffolk Fire & Rescue EMS CEU Blitz March 4th-March 8th, 2019
Tue Mar 05 @ 9:30AM - 04:30PM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com