Thursday, 26 April 2018

Latest News

Portsmouth's Amy Ward Receives Governor's EMS Award

Amy Ward photoAmy L. Ward, a career paramedic with Portsmouth Fire, EMS and Emergency Services was awarded the 2014 Governor’s EMS Award for Outstanding Prehospital Provider.  For more than 18 years, Amy Ward has provided outstanding and dedicated service to the system through her involvement in all facets of EMS at the local and regional level. Ward has worked tirelessly to improve EMS services in her agency, Portsmouth Fire, Rescue and Emergency Services, as well as in the Tidewater region.

Read more: Portsmouth's Amy Ward Receives Governor's EMS Award

EMS Clarification of Governors Savings Plan

Governor McAuliffe's FY 2015 Savings Plan, Pursuant to Item 471.10 of HB 5010 was released to the public on October 15. The Virginia Department of Health's budget reduction includes the following language within the Governor's Plan:
 
Capture balance from the Emergency Medical Services Fund. This strategy transfers balances in the Special Emergency Medical Services Fund to the General Fund. The loss of this revenue is not expected to have a direct impact on agency services or operations. This amount is $4,000,000.
 
The $4,000,000 capture of EMS funds identified in Governor McAuliffe's FY 2015 Savings Plan does not impact the $4.25 that currently supports EMS services and operations in Virginia.

Read more: EMS Clarification of Governors Savings Plan

Tidewater EMS Protocol Smart Phone/Tablet Apps Available

iOS protocol appThe Tidewater EMS Council is very pleased to announce the release of its first smart phone application. The app includes the latest TEMS Medical Protocols and related tools. The Android version will be updated in the near future to include the same functions that are now found in the iOS version. Plans for additional features are in the works and will be available through version updates.Submit suggestions for improvements to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..
 p 2zE4EH get-it-on-google-play-store-logo
 

Upcoming Events

Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue May 01 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon May 07 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
OMD Committee Meeting
Tue Jun 05 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Jun 13 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
2018 Regional Awards Presentation - Register below
Thu Jun 14 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Jun 20 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
CISM Team Meeting
Tue Aug 07 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Aug 08 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
OMD Committee Meeting
Wed Sep 05 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Sep 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM

Upcoming Classes

Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue May 01 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
ACLS Update
Fri May 04 @ 9:30AM - 04:00PM
Geriatric Education for the EMS Provider (GEMS)
Sat May 05 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
PALS UPDATE
Mon May 07 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
ACLS Update
Tue May 08 @ 9:00AM - 04:00PM
Basic Life Support
Wed May 09 @ 9:00AM - 01:00PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 05/12/2018
Sat May 12 @ 9:00AM -
Basic Life Support
Tue May 15 @ 9:30AM - 01:30PM
ACLS Provider Course (2 Day)
Wed May 16 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
ACLS Provider Course (2 Day)
Thu May 17 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com