Tuesday, 25 July 2017

Latest News

Construction Cam Keeps Watch Over New Shore Memorial Hospital

Rendering of New Riverside Shore Memorial Hospital
A new 52-bed hospital serving Virginia's Eastern Shore is under construction. The relocation of Riverside Shore Memorial Hospital from Nassawadox will result in a 136,000-square-foot hospital between Onley and Onancock built from the ground up. In addition to the main hospital, the total project includes a new cancer center and a physician office building. Site preparation is in progress and anyone interested can watch as construction moves forward by visiting the hospital's construction webpage at  http://www.riversideonline.com/shore/new/construction.cfm
 

Portsmouth's Amy Ward Receives Governor's EMS Award

Amy Ward photoAmy L. Ward, a career paramedic with Portsmouth Fire, EMS and Emergency Services was awarded the 2014 Governor’s EMS Award for Outstanding Prehospital Provider.  For more than 18 years, Amy Ward has provided outstanding and dedicated service to the system through her involvement in all facets of EMS at the local and regional level. Ward has worked tirelessly to improve EMS services in her agency, Portsmouth Fire, Rescue and Emergency Services, as well as in the Tidewater region.

Read more: Portsmouth's Amy Ward Receives Governor's EMS Award

EMS Clarification of Governors Savings Plan

Governor McAuliffe's FY 2015 Savings Plan, Pursuant to Item 471.10 of HB 5010 was released to the public on October 15. The Virginia Department of Health's budget reduction includes the following language within the Governor's Plan:
 
Capture balance from the Emergency Medical Services Fund. This strategy transfers balances in the Special Emergency Medical Services Fund to the General Fund. The loss of this revenue is not expected to have a direct impact on agency services or operations. This amount is $4,000,000.
 
The $4,000,000 capture of EMS funds identified in Governor McAuliffe's FY 2015 Savings Plan does not impact the $4.25 that currently supports EMS services and operations in Virginia.

Read more: EMS Clarification of Governors Savings Plan

Upcoming Events

CISM Team Meeting
Tue Aug 01 @ 6:00PM -
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Aug 09 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Critical Incident Stress Management Team Training
Sat Sep 09 @ 9:00AM - 12:00PM
Board of Directors - TEMS
Thu Sep 14 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Sep 20 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee & RSAF Grading - TEMS
Wed Oct 11 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon Nov 06 @ 6:00PM -
Joint PEMS & TEMS OMD Committee Meeting
Wed Dec 06 @12:00PM - 04:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Dec 13 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Board of Directors - TEMS
Thu Dec 14 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM

Upcoming Classes

NIMS ICS 400
Wed Aug 23 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Aug 24 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Trauma Day with Lectures and Hands on Skills
Fri Aug 25 @ 8:30AM - 03:30PM
Trauma Day with Lectures and Hands on Skills
Sat Aug 26 @ 8:30AM - 03:30PM
Consolidated Testing @EVMS 08/29/2017
Tue Aug 29 @ 6:00PM -
Consolidated Testing @EVMS 09/26/2017
Tue Sep 26 @ 6:00PM -
Consolidated Testing @EVMS 10/24/2017
Tue Oct 24 @ 6:00PM -
Simualtion and Cadaver Lab
Wed Oct 25 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Oct 25 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Simualtion and Cadaver Lab
Thu Oct 26 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Platinum Partner
Gold Partner
nationalcprassociation
www.nationalcprassociation.com