Monday, 18 February 2019

Main Navigation

Latest News

Preparing for the unthinkable: Law enforcement, EMS team up for active shooter drill

Smithfield — The halls and church areas of Harvest Fellowship Baptist Church were filled with students and church members, Saturday 4/28/18 as they got ready for an active shooter training drill session.

ASE 2

Yet in a matter of moments, chaos broke out around 13:00 when the Isle of Wight Volunteer Rescue and area responders took part in an extensive active shooter drill.

 The drill simulated a shooter coming onto the premises and opening fire on the church in session, leaving mass destruction in his path.

Read more: Preparing for the unthinkable: Law enforcement, EMS team up for active shooter drill

Injectable Narcotic Shortages

EMS Agencies, Field Personnel, and OMDs within the TEMS Region:

All manufacturers are currently experiencing supply issues related to shortages of injectable narcotic products. Shortages are related to manufacturing delays and product availability. These shortages are predicted to extend into 2019.

These shortages include morphine 10 mg/1 mL 10 mg vials and fentanyl 50 mcg/1 mL 100 mcg vials that are stocked in the Tidewater EMS Red medication boxes.

Read more: Injectable Narcotic Shortages

Education and research fund board seeks members

advisory boardNominations are being accepted for Weber Fund Advisory Board members.The Tidewater EMS Council's Board of Directors established the Kent J. Weber EMS Education and Research Fund in 2015 in honor the leadership and guidance of the council’s first executive director, long time board member and treasurer, Kent Jules Weber. More recently a Weber Fund Advisory Board was established to develop strategic advice and provide direction and support to the Board of Directors in all matters related to the Fund. 

Read more: Education and research fund board seeks members

New field coordinator position serves Western Tidewater

porter smallThe Tidewater EMS Council created a new field coordinator position to support EMS education, performance improvement, mass casualty preparedness and other EMS programs in the counties of Southampton and Isle of Wight, and the city of Franklin.

Harvey “Jay” Porter, the Tidewater EMS Council’s former Education and Performance Improvement Coordinator, began serving as Field Coordinator – Western Tidewater part time beginning January 1, 2018.

Read more: New field coordinator position serves Western Tidewater

Upcoming Events

Office Closed - Washington Day
Mon Feb 18 @12:00AM
Medical Directors Meeting
Tue Mar 12 @12:00PM - 01:00PM
Board Of Directors Meeting
Thu Mar 14 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Mar 20 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Apr 10 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon May 06 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
Office Closed - Memorial Day
Mon May 27 @12:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Jun 12 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Board Of Directors Meeting
Thu Jun 13 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Jun 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM

Upcoming Classes

IWVRS CEU Recert Class
Tue Feb 19 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Feb 20 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Thu Feb 21 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
IWVRS CEU Recert Class
Thu Feb 21 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
Tactical Emergency Casualty Care (TECC)
Sat Feb 23 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Tactical Emergency Casualty Care (TECC)
Sun Feb 24 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
IWVRS CEU Recert Class
Tue Feb 26 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
IWVRS CEU Recert Class
Thu Feb 28 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
Suffolk Fire & Rescue EMS CEU Blitz March 4th-March 8th, 2019
Mon Mar 04 @ 9:30AM - 04:30PM
Suffolk Fire & Rescue EMS CEU Blitz March 4th-March 8th, 2019
Tue Mar 05 @ 9:30AM - 04:30PM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com