Sunday, 19 May 2019

Main Navigation

Nightingale's first operational flight under Instrument Flight Rules (IFR) from Sentara Norfolk General Hospital to Sentara Albemarle Medical Center in Elizabeth City took place in cloudy weather on Thursday, January 3rd, 2019. A vascular patient with an aortic alert was safely transferred to Sentara Norfolk General.

Nine sites in Eastern Virginia and northeast North Carolina are now fully operational for Instrument Flight Rules (IFR) landings by the Nightingale Regional Air Ambulance. The FAA designation creates designated airspace, allowing flights in cloudy, rainy weather which had to be turned down under current Visual Flight Rules (VFR) limitations. IFR allows Nightingale to meet ground ambulances at designated safe sites in poor weather rather than remote scenes. 

IFR development over two years was funded by a grant from the Sentara Foundation Hampton Roads, which included targeted gifts from donors in host communities. These gifts included $40,000 from private donors on the Eastern Shore. Also, Currituck County, North Carolina, appropriated $25,000 from its tourism fund to support two IFR sites at the Corolla and Carova EMS stations.

The IFR sites include:

  • · Sentara Norfolk General Hospital (Nightingale’s base)
  • · Sentara Obici Hospital (Suffolk)
  • · Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center
  • · Isle of Wight County Rescue Squad (Smithfield, VA)
  • · Campbell Field (Northampton County, Eastern Shore)
  • · Sentara Albemarle Medical Center (Elizabeth City, NC)
  • · Outer Banks Hospital (Nags Head, NC)
  • · Corolla Fire Station (Corolla, NC)
  • · Carova Beach Volunteer Fire & Rescue Station (Carova, NC)

Nightingale conducts 700+ flights per year.  That number may increase under IFR operations due to fewer turn-downs for weather.  

Dale Gauding

Senior Communications Advisor

Brand Engagement I Sentara Healthcare

6015 Poplar Hall Drive I Norfolk, VA I 23502

24/7 Media Pager (Call or Text) 757-671-4971

(o) 757-455-7118

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

www.sentara.com/news

Upcoming Events

Office Closed - Memorial Day
Mon May 27 @12:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Jun 12 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Board Of Directors Meeting
Thu Jun 13 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Jun 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
Office Closed - Independence Day
Thu Jul 04 @12:00AM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon Aug 05 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Aug 14 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Office Closed - Labor Day
Mon Sep 02 @12:00AM
Board Of Directors Meeting
Thu Sep 05 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Sep 18 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM

Upcoming Classes

Consolidated Testing @NFR 05/22/2019
Wed May 22 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
Advanced Cardiac Lifes Support
Sat Jun 08 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Advanced Cardiac Lifes Support
Sun Jun 09 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Jun 26 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Thu Jun 27 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 07/24/2019
Wed Jul 24 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 07/27/19
Sat Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 07/27/2019
Sat Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 07/27/2019
Sat Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Aug 28 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM

Platinum Partner

Platinum Partner

Gold Partner

Silver Partner
Silver Partner
nationalcprassociation
www.nationalcprassociation.com