Tuesday, 18 June 2019

Main Navigation

Smithfield- The church area of Harvest Fellowship Baptist Church was filled with volunteers and church members on Saturday, 11/17/18 as they got ready for an active shooter training drill session.

Yet in a matter of moments, chaos broke out around 13:05 when a simulated shooter came onto the premises and opened fire on the church in session, leaving mass destruction in his path. Moments after multiple shots rang out; the screams of potential shooting victims could be heard throughout the church. As officers with the Smithfield Police Department and Isle of Wight County Sheriff’s Department arrived on the scene; they find themselves involved with a young male firing a long rifle at them. The officers returned fire with the shooter and the shooter went down. After the shooter was secured, the officers entered the church to ensure the area safe for EMS crews to tend to any and all downed victims.

Smithfield Vol. Fire, Isle of Wight Vol. Rescue Squad, Carrollton Vol. Fire and the entire IWVRS EMT class arrived to treat those injuries based on the Mass Casualty Incident guidelines. Those injuries were depicted graphically through the creative efforts to make the scene look realistic. Twenty-one patients were processed with two individuals moved to Sentara Nightingale and VCU LifeEvac 3 helicopters. All patients were moved and processed within forty-two minutes.

This entire scene was scripted out for training purposes for the IWVRS EMT class and the unified teamwork between our Fire, EMS, and Law Enforcement. But the same scene has played out in real life all too often, and local authorities want to be prepared in the event the unthinkable happens here.

Upcoming Events

Education and Training Committee Meeting
Wed Jun 19 @ 9:30AM - 11:30AM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Jun 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
Office Closed - Independence Day
Thu Jul 04 @12:00AM
Office Closed - Independence Day
Fri Jul 05 @12:00AM
Patient & Provider Safety PI Meeting
Thu Jul 11 @ 1:00PM - 02:00PM
Trauma/Triage PI Meeting
Thu Jul 11 @ 2:30PM - 03:30PM
Education and Training Committee Meeting
Wed Jul 17 @ 9:30AM - 11:30AM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon Aug 05 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
STEMI PI Meeting
Thu Aug 08 @ 1:00PM - 02:00PM
Stroke PI Meeting
Thu Aug 08 @ 2:30PM - 03:30PM

Upcoming Classes

NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Jun 26 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Thu Jun 27 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Pulsara: The Future of Healthcare Communication
Thu Jun 27 @ 6:30PM - 09:00PM
EMERGENCY RESPONDERS CANCER AWARENESS SEMINAR
Thu Jul 18 @ 6:30PM - 10:00PM
Tactical Combat Casualty Care
Sat Jul 20 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Tactical Combat Casualty Care
Sun Jul 21 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Consolidated Testing at Norfolk Fire-Rescue Training Center
Wed Jul 24 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Aug 28 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Aug 29 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Consolidated Test at Norfolk Fire-Rescue Training Center
Wed Sep 25 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM

Platinum Partner

Platinum Partner

Gold Partner

Silver Partner
Silver Partner
nationalcprassociation
www.nationalcprassociation.com