Tuesday, 22 May 2018

The Healthcare Emergency Amateur Radio Team (HEART) provides back-up emergency communications for healthcare facilities in Eastern Virginia through the use of amateur radios and volunteer radio operators.

The HEART program begins its third year and currently supports 32 healthcare facilities including hospitals, long term care facilities and the TEMS and PEMS council offices.

HEART team photo

Several HEART members following a recent training

The team provides emergency communications from healthcare facility-to-healthcare facility and healthcare facility to the Regional Healthcare Coordination Center and to Emergency Operations Centers.

Team volunteers are dedicated to the mission of HEART and continue to learn new forms of emergency communications using amateur radio. That includes WinLink which is a form of sending digital messages through the amateur radio.

There are other projects in the works and additional members are needed to expand this volunteer group.

The team is sponsored by the Eastern Virginia Healthcare Coalition. If you or someone you know is interested in joining HEART please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

HEART Logo

Upcoming Events

Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Jun 05 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
OMD Committee Meeting
Tue Jun 05 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Jun 13 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
2018 Regional Awards Presentation - Register below
Thu Jun 14 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Jun 20 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
CISM Team Meeting
Tue Aug 07 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Aug 08 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
OMD Committee Meeting
Wed Sep 05 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Sep 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Oct 10 @12:00PM - 02:00PM

Upcoming Classes

ACLS UPDATE
Tue May 22 @ 9:00AM - 04:00PM
Pediatric Trauma (Lunch & Learn) Lecture
Wed May 23 @11:30AM - 01:00PM
BASIC LIFE SUPPORT
Wed May 30 @ 9:30AM - 01:30PM
ACLS UPDATE
Thu May 31 @ 9:30AM - 04:00PM
Advanced Medical Life Support
Sat Jun 02 @ 8:00AM - 04:00PM
Advanced Medical Life Support
Sun Jun 03 @ 8:00AM - 04:00PM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Jun 05 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Jun 20 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Thu Jun 21 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
EMT Instructor Network Meeting
Thu Jun 28 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com