Monday, 18 February 2019

Main Navigation

The Healthcare Emergency Amateur Radio Team (HEART) provides back-up emergency communications for healthcare facilities in Eastern Virginia through the use of amateur radios and volunteer radio operators.

The HEART program begins its third year and currently supports 32 healthcare facilities including hospitals, long term care facilities and the TEMS and PEMS council offices.

HEART team photo

Several HEART members following a recent training

The team provides emergency communications from healthcare facility-to-healthcare facility and healthcare facility to the Regional Healthcare Coordination Center and to Emergency Operations Centers.

Team volunteers are dedicated to the mission of HEART and continue to learn new forms of emergency communications using amateur radio. That includes WinLink which is a form of sending digital messages through the amateur radio.

There are other projects in the works and additional members are needed to expand this volunteer group.

The team is sponsored by the Eastern Virginia Healthcare Coalition. If you or someone you know is interested in joining HEART please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

HEART Logo

Upcoming Events

Office Closed - Washington Day
Mon Feb 18 @12:00AM
Medical Directors Meeting
Tue Mar 12 @12:00PM - 01:00PM
Board Of Directors Meeting
Thu Mar 14 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Mar 20 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Apr 10 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon May 06 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
Office Closed - Memorial Day
Mon May 27 @12:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Jun 12 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Board Of Directors Meeting
Thu Jun 13 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Jun 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM

Upcoming Classes

IWVRS CEU Recert Class
Tue Feb 19 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Feb 20 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Thu Feb 21 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
IWVRS CEU Recert Class
Thu Feb 21 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
Tactical Emergency Casualty Care (TECC)
Sat Feb 23 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Tactical Emergency Casualty Care (TECC)
Sun Feb 24 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
IWVRS CEU Recert Class
Tue Feb 26 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
IWVRS CEU Recert Class
Thu Feb 28 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
Suffolk Fire & Rescue EMS CEU Blitz March 4th-March 8th, 2019
Mon Mar 04 @ 9:30AM - 04:30PM
Suffolk Fire & Rescue EMS CEU Blitz March 4th-March 8th, 2019
Tue Mar 05 @ 9:30AM - 04:30PM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com