Thursday, 21 June 2018

glucometer 4Diabetic care practices are often overlooked in EMS. Blood glucose testing can expose people to bloodborne viruses such as Hepatitis B, Hepatitis C Virus, and HIV when testing supplies and materials are used on multiple patients. Outbreaks of Hepatitis B infection associated with unsafe diabetes care have been identified with increasing regularity particularly is settings where individuals require assistance with monitoring their blood glucose levels and glucometers are used on multiple patients. EMS is one of these settings.

Here are some simple rules EMS providers should follow when testing blood glucose levels.


1. Use single-use lancets that permanently retract upon puncture. This adds an extra layer of safety for both the patient and you.
2. Dispose of used lancets at the point of use in an approved sharps container.
3. NEVER reuse lancets.
4. Clean and disinfected the blood glucose meter BEFORE and AFTER each use per the manufacturer’s instructions. This must be done to prevent the carry-over of blood and infectious agents. NOTE: If the manufacturer does not specify how the meter should be cleaned and disinfected then it should NOT be used on multiple patients.
5. Change your gloves between patients. Healthcare personnel should change gloves between patients, even if patient dedicated testing devices and single-use, self-disabling lancing devices are used.

Think about it….

When was the last time you cleaned and disinfected the blood glucose meter on your ambulance?

RESOURCES:

1. CDC Infection Prevention during Blood Glucose Monitoring and Insulin Administration
https://www.cdc.gov/injectionsafety/blood-glucose-monitoring.html
2. Diabetes & Viral Hepatitis: Important Information on Safe Diabetes Care (PDF Suitable for use as a poster.) http://www.oneandonlycampaign.org/sites/default/files/upload/pdf/Diabetes%20and%20Viral%20Hepatitis_Safe%20Care.pdf
3. Diabetes & Viral Hepatitis: Important Information on Safe Diabetes Care (VDH PowerPoint Slide) http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/.../sites/13/2016/03/SafeDiabetesCare.pptx
4. Letter to Manufacturers of Blood Glucose Monitoring Systems Listed With the FDA https://www.fda.gov/MedicalDevices/ProductsandMedicalProcedures/InVitroDiagnostics/ucm227935.htm
5. Glucometry Waiver is Necessary for EMS, Tidewater Emergency Medical Services Council Inc.; http://tidewaterems.org/glucometry-waiver

 

###

Upcoming Events

Office Closed - Independence Day
Wed Jul 04 @12:00AM
CISM Team Meeting
Tue Aug 07 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Aug 08 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Office Closed - Labor Day
Mon Sep 03 @12:00AM
OMD Committee Meeting
Wed Sep 05 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Sep 11 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Sep 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
Office Closed - Columbus Day
Mon Oct 08 @12:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Oct 10 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon Nov 05 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM

Upcoming Classes

NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Thu Jun 21 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
How to treat an exposed Radiated Patient
Wed Jun 27 @11:30AM - 02:00PM
EMT Instructor Network Meeting
Thu Jun 28 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
8 Hour Tactical EMS for First Responders
Sun Jul 08 @ 8:00AM - 04:00PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 07/28/18
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Aug 22 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Aug 23 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Sep 11 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 09/29/2018
Sat Sep 29 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Tue Oct 23 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com