Tuesday, 25 July 2017

goodsambeatheatEMS personnel cannot avoid exposure to the heat and humidity of Hampton Roads’ summers. Nor do we have much choice in the uniforms we wear. However, there are things you can do to reduce the effect of heat stress on your body and work performance.

Before Your Shift:
• Stay physically fit through a good diet and routine exercise. Maintain a healthy weight.
• Review your medications. Some medications can make it harder for the body to respond to heat stress and make you more susceptible to getting a sunburn. Talk with your physician or pharmacist if you have questions about your medications.
• Avoid drinking alcoholic and caffeinated beverages with large amounts of caffeine or sugar within eight hours of your shift. Energy drinks should be avoided.

• Get the sleep you need. You should get 7-8 hours of sleep before your shift.
• Drink enough water to be thoroughly hydrated before reporting for duty.
• Eat a meal before reporting for duty. If reporting for duty on a night shift, try eating a lighter meal.

During Your Shift:
• Drink water frequently. Drink enough water that you never become thirsty. Keep water with you on the truck if possible. Drink water every 15-20 minutes. Avoid energy drinks and other caffeinated and sugary beverages. Caffeine causes increased urination, which could lead to dehydration.
• Take breaks whenever possible. Get into the shade or a cool area, or vehicle.
• Eat regularly. Avoid heavy meals.
• Monitor the local heat stress index. Most weather apps and websites will post the dry bulb temperature for a location based on GPS. They also post a “feels like” temperature reading. This reading, as a minimum, takes into consideration the ambient air temperature, humidity and wind.
• Be aware that protective clothing (turnout gear) or personal protective equipment may increase the risk of heat stress. Monitor your physical condition and that of your partner and other coworkers.
• Don’t “gut it out”. If you are not feeling well report your health status to your supervisor.
• Follow the rehabilitation procedures set forth for your agency.

Here are some additional heat stress resources:
OSHA Heat Stress App (for both Android & iPhone): https://www.osha.gov/SLTC/heatillness/heat_index/heat_app.html

Heat Stress Hydration Poster: https://www.cdc.gov/niosh/mining/UserFiles/works/pdfs/2017-126.pdf

Summary of Heat-related Illnesses and First Aid: https://www.osha.gov/SLTC/heatstress/heat_illnesses.html

Contact author Judy Shuck, Healthcare Emergency Preparedness Coordinator

Upcoming Events

CISM Team Meeting
Tue Aug 01 @ 6:00PM -
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Aug 09 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Critical Incident Stress Management Team Training
Sat Sep 09 @ 9:00AM - 12:00PM
Board of Directors - TEMS
Thu Sep 14 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Sep 20 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee & RSAF Grading - TEMS
Wed Oct 11 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon Nov 06 @ 6:00PM -
Joint PEMS & TEMS OMD Committee Meeting
Wed Dec 06 @12:00PM - 04:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Dec 13 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Board of Directors - TEMS
Thu Dec 14 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM

Upcoming Classes

NIMS ICS 400
Wed Aug 23 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Aug 24 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Trauma Day with Lectures and Hands on Skills
Fri Aug 25 @ 8:30AM - 03:30PM
Trauma Day with Lectures and Hands on Skills
Sat Aug 26 @ 8:30AM - 03:30PM
Consolidated Testing @EVMS 08/29/2017
Tue Aug 29 @ 6:00PM -
Consolidated Testing @EVMS 09/26/2017
Tue Sep 26 @ 6:00PM -
Consolidated Testing @EVMS 10/24/2017
Tue Oct 24 @ 6:00PM -
Simualtion and Cadaver Lab
Wed Oct 25 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Oct 25 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Simualtion and Cadaver Lab
Thu Oct 26 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Platinum Partner
Gold Partner
nationalcprassociation
www.nationalcprassociation.com