Tuesday, 18 June 2019

Main Navigation

calogrides.jpgThomas G. Calogrides Jr. has been named dean of health professions at Tidewater Community College.

A nationally-registered paramedic, Calogrides joined TCC’s full-time faculty ranks in 1998 as an assistant professor in the Emergency Medical Services (EMS) program. He leaves the post to become dean as a full professor.

Calogrides' contributions include developing and delivering state-of-the-art EMS training programs for all levels of providers, from first responders to paramedics. He is also a member of the Tidewater EMS Council education committee.

Prior to joining TCC full time, Calogrides taught cardiopulmonary resuscitation for a private company, worked as a paramedic at NORSHIPCO, and taught EMS as an adjunct faculty member of TCC.

Calogrides is actively involved with Virginia-1 DMAT, a disaster medical assistance team that falls under the auspices of the National Disaster Medical System. He currently serves as a logistics section chief. Past positions with the organization include training officer, health technician officer and health technician.

Calogrides shares his time with Operation Smile and has traveled on 35 mission trips to 10 countries since the mid-1990s. He also is a volunteer paramedic with the Nansemond-Suffolk Volunteer Rescue Squad, where he keeps his skills current. 

 A native and resident of Norfolk, Calogrides holds a bachelor of science degree in health science and a master of science in education, both from Old Dominion University.

calogrides.jpg

Upcoming Events

Education and Training Committee Meeting
Wed Jun 19 @ 9:30AM - 11:30AM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Jun 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
Office Closed - Independence Day
Thu Jul 04 @12:00AM
Office Closed - Independence Day
Fri Jul 05 @12:00AM
Patient & Provider Safety PI Meeting
Thu Jul 11 @ 1:00PM - 02:00PM
Trauma/Triage PI Meeting
Thu Jul 11 @ 2:30PM - 03:30PM
Education and Training Committee Meeting
Wed Jul 17 @ 9:30AM - 11:30AM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon Aug 05 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
STEMI PI Meeting
Thu Aug 08 @ 1:00PM - 02:00PM
Stroke PI Meeting
Thu Aug 08 @ 2:30PM - 03:30PM

Upcoming Classes

NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Jun 26 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Thu Jun 27 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Pulsara: The Future of Healthcare Communication
Thu Jun 27 @ 6:30PM - 09:00PM
EMERGENCY RESPONDERS CANCER AWARENESS SEMINAR
Thu Jul 18 @ 6:30PM - 10:00PM
Tactical Combat Casualty Care
Sat Jul 20 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Tactical Combat Casualty Care
Sun Jul 21 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Consolidated Testing at Norfolk Fire-Rescue Training Center
Wed Jul 24 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Aug 28 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Aug 29 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Consolidated Test at Norfolk Fire-Rescue Training Center
Wed Sep 25 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM

Platinum Partner

Platinum Partner

Gold Partner

Silver Partner
Silver Partner
nationalcprassociation
www.nationalcprassociation.com